Four Tops

Four Tops win UK’s first crowd-sourced top summer tracks poll using social media

Audio-Technica has announced the final shortlist in its ‘Sound of the Summer’ campaign which set out to identify the nation’s favourite summer tunes.

Four Tops

Four Tops

The competition, which was launched back in June through the company’s social media channels, aimed to get people thinking about their ultimate summer anthems and explaining why they associated them with the sunny season. The nationwide competition captured the country’s imagination and received a huge amount of entries from a wide variety of musical genres.

The competition proved so popular, and difficult to decide, that a final shortlist of the top 20 tracks has now been announced online with Audio-Technica kindly asking the public to vote for their favourite song.

Audio-Technica’s senior marketing manager, Harvey Roberts commented: ‘We all love the summer and we were genuinely interested to find out which was the nation’s favourite summer anthem. I particularly wanted to engage music fans in a fun competition where they could tell us what they liked and why, and some of the music suggestions have been truly brilliant and varied. If I’m honest we never expected to receive so many diverse entries, we even received a few well humoured entries about the great British summer weather.’

The final shortlisted entries can be viewed on Audio-Technica’s YouTube channel and are as follows:

1. Loco in Acapulco – Four Tops
2. California Girls- Katy Perry & Snoop Dogg
3. Summertime – Will Smith & DJ Jazzy Jeff
4. Sun Children ‘ Nickodemus
5. Sunny Afternoon ‘ The Kinks
6. Summer Breeze ‘ Isley Brothers
7. LDN ‘ Lilly Allen
8. Holiday ‘ Madonna
9. Loveshack ‘ The B52′s
10. In The Summertime ‘ Mungo Jerry
11. Barcelona ‘ D Kay & Epilson
12. World Hold On ‘ Bob Sinclair
13. Staying Out For The Summer ‘ Dodgy
14. The Boys Of Summer ‘ Don Henley
15. Summer In The City ‘ The Lovin’ Spoonful
16. Here Comes The Sun ‘ Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel
17. Wipe Out ‘ The Surfaris
18. Get What You Give ‘ New Radicals
19. Steal My Sunshine ‘ Len
20. I’m Yours ‘ Jason Mraz

Last minute news